Summer of Love (Supreme!)

IMG_2836

This summer, 2 weeks ago to be precise, I experienced my first music festival. Not a unique experience I know, but at the ripe old age of 57, I thought I’d give it a go. I’ve also been a “mature” student for the last two years, which makes me wonder if I’m going through another midlife crisis or joining a new trend. Whatever it is, I don’t care and I’m going back for more next year AND I’m going to camp so that I don’t miss anything. (Now I know I’ve lost the plot!) 

But no; it seems I’m in good company because there were people there much older than myself; in fact all age groups were enjoying themselves, from children to grandparents.

Picture the rolling hills of the South Downs as a backdrop, a majestic stately home on the periphery and thousands, yes thousands, of happy (some through drink, I’ll admit) people soaking up the atmosphere. I think this is the essence of festivals; the atmosphere.  Throw into the mix a traditional funfair, more food vendors than you could ever imagine, beer tents aplenty and you have a recipe for a great time. The weather helped by behaving itself; always useful. 

Love Supreme has been referred to as “Glastonbury for Jazz,” which I think is a good description and coming a week after it’s more famous cousin, I can see the similarities (even though I’ve only watched it on TV) Headlining this year were George Benson (who I’ve  loved for 40 years) Gregory Porter (who I’ve recently followed) Mica Paris,  the Jacksons (who did the same moving tribute to missing brother Micheal as they did at Glastonbury) and Herbie Hancock.

There were many more artistes that I didn’t know so well but enjoyed as much and found myself running between the Big Top, the main stage and the Arena, so as not to miss anything! But the highlight for me was when big George came on with his fancy guitar. It was a perfect setting; early Sunday evening, the sun still shining and by playing most of his popular songs, he took me back to all those years ago. And boy, he can still play that guitar seemlessly. All in all, a fantastic time was had by all and roll on next year.

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Summer of Love (Supreme!)

  1. jennypellett says:

    Whoohoo! I’m so proud of you! I’m off to the Edinburgh Fringe next month – for the first time – so I’m starting to do al. The things I missed the first time round. You go, girl. (Although I’d draw the line at camping)😀😀

    • kaypickard says:

      Thanks Jenny and Edinburgh fringe has got to be up there with experiences and I’m quite jealous. You’ll love it and let me know all about it even in person or do one of your very entertaining blog posts! 😘👏

  2. jennypellett says:

    Oops, a rogue full stop instead of a second ‘l’….sorry. Too hasty to proof read first time around 😕

  3. Great to hear you’re achieving those aspirations! Keep going Kay, love your blog!

    • kaypickard says:

      Thanks Diane. I haven’t had much to write about lately since I’ve been a “mature” student. All I seem to do is work and study! I know you said, when we met in Morrisons last year, that you had given up blogging but I enjoyed your travels because you took me to places I’ve yet to explore 😘

  4. Jacqueline says:

    Lovely to hear that you have been having a good time. I enjoyed reading about it. Keep up the adventures!

    • kaypickard says:

      Thanks Jacqueline but it doesn’t happen that much lately. Sadly I no longer have the time, or the money, to do anything exciting lately. Hopefully that will all change when I qualify as a counsellor, but until then, I’ll have to keep my head down 😊

  5. Wanda Needes says:

    A great read Kay……sounds like you had the best time, even making me think of going next year!! Remember….you’re never too old to try new things! X

  6. kaypickard says:

    Thanks Wanda, yes come! The dates are out already; 29th June- 1st July 😘

Leave a Reply

